Auto Shredders

One of the final stages in recovering value from an End-of-Life Vehicle occurs when the depolluted, flattening vehicle hulk is shredded by an auto shredder.

These shredders can reduce vehicles to fist-sized pieces in a matter of minutes, allowing various downstream technologies to separate out the ferrous and non-ferrous metals (including copper, aluminum, lead, zinc, and tin).

ISRI has put together a nice educational video here – The Shredder Story.

These giant shredders also process white goods, and various other scrap metals to feed Electric Arc Furnaces, to close the loop on the recycling of ELVs.

ARC has compiled a list of active 34 auto shredders in Canada:

Company Province Address Telephone Website
Genalta Recycling (EVRAZ Group) Alberta 9301 34 St, Sherwood Park, AB T6B 2X9 780-466-9010 www.genaltarecycling.com
General Recycling Industries Alberta 4120 – 84 Avenue, Edmonton, AB, T6B 3H3 780-452-5865 www.generalrecycling.com
Navajo Metals (EVRAZ Group) Alberta 5857 12 St SE, Calgary, AB T2H 2G7 403-252-1229
Calgary Metal Recycling Alberta 3415 Ogden Road SE, Calgary AB T2G 4N4 403-262-4542 www.calgarymetal.com
Richmond Steel Recycling British Columbia 11760 Mitchell Road, Richmond BC, V6V 1V8 604-324-4656 richmondsteel.ca
General Scrap (EVRAZ Group) Manitoba 135 Bismarck St, Springfield, MB R2C 2Z2 (204) 222-4221
Gerdau Ameristeel – Selkirk Manitoba 1 Railway St, Selkirk, MB R1A 2B3 (204) 482-6701 www2.gerdau.com/metals-recycling
Industrial Metals Manitoba 50 Messier Street, Winnipeg MB R2J 0G5 (204) 233-1933 www.industrialmetals.ca
AIM Saint John New Brunswick 145 Gateway St, Saint John, NB, E2M 5S8  506-672-4000 aim-recycling.com
Newco Metal Newfoundland 50 Robin Hood Bay Rd. St. John’s, NL  A1C 5L4 709-753-3070 www.newcometal.com
Dartmouth Metals Nova Scotia 14 Dawn Dr, Dartmouth, NS B3B 1H9 (902) 468-1995 dartmouthmetals.com
John Ross & Sons Nova Scotia 171 Chain Lake Dr Halifax, NS B3S 1B3 (902) 450-5633 jrsons.ca
AIM Recycling Hamilton Ontario 75 Steel City Court, Hamilton, ON L8H 3Y2 (905) 547-5533 www.aim-hamilton.com
Attar Metals Ontario 1856 Romani Court, Mississauga, ON L5T 1J1 (905) 670-1491 www.attarmetals.com
Don Mills Steel and Metal Ontario 11967 Woodbine Ave, Gormley, ON L0H 1G0 1 800-461-8495 www.donmillssteel.ca
George’s Auto Wreckers Ontario 6135 Hwy 22, Komoka, ON N0L 1R0 (519) 666-0220
Gerdau Ameristeel – Whitby Ontario 1801 Hopkins St, Whitby, ON L1N 5T1 905-668-8811 www2.gerdau.com/metals-recycling
Glenview Iron & Metal Ontario 3954 Hwy. 43 West, Smiths Falls, ON K7A 4S4 (613) 283-5230 www.glenviewiron.com
John Zubick Ltd Ontario 105 Clarke Rd, London, ON N5W 5C9 (519) 451-5470 www.zubicks.com
Kimco Steel Sales Ontario 1325 John Counter Blvd, Kingston, ON K7L 4W1 (613) 544-1822 kimcosteel.com
Moffatt Scrap Ontario 9620 Guelph Line, Campbellville, Ontario L0P 1B0 905-854-2792 moffattscrapiron.ca
Karten Metals Ontario 23 Subway Road, Trenton ON  K8V 5R7 613-392-8202
Triple M – Sault Ste. Marie Ontario 131 Yates Avenue Sault Ste. Marie, ON P6C 1G1 705-759-1090 www.triplemmetal.com
Triple M Metals – Brampton Ontario 331 Intermodal Drive, Brampton, Ontario  L6T 5G4 (905) 547-8888 www.triplemmetal.com
Triple M Metals – Hamilton Ontario 670 Strathearne Ave, Hamilton, Ontario  L8H 7N7 (905) 547-8888 www.triplemmetal.com
A&S Scrap Metal (John Ross & Sons) PEI 8 Day Ave, Charlottetown, PEI  C1E 0E5 902-368-3401 www.asmetals.ca
AIM Recycling Levis Quebec 2185 Montée Masson, Laval, QC, H7E 4P2  514 323-0333 aim-recycling.com
AIM Recycling Montreal-Est Quebec 9100 Boul Henri-Bourassa Est, Montreal, QC, H1E 2S4 514 494-2000
Associated Steel Industries (Riva Group) Quebec 7140 Route 132, Ville Ste-Catherine, Québec, J5C 1B6 (450) 632-1881 asiriva.com
AIM Recycling Laval Quebec 2185 Montée Masson, Laval, QC, H7E 4P2 514 323-0333
Contrecoeur Feruni (AccelorMittal) Quebec 3185 Rte 132, Contrecoeur, Quebec J0L 1C0 (450) 392-3200
Les Entrepôts De Métaux Quebec 2355 De la Province, Longueuil, Quebec  J4G 2G3 450-963-8289 entrepotsmetaux.com
Wheat City Metals Inc. (EVRAZ Group) Saskatchewan 2881 Pasqua St N, Zehner, SK S0G 5K0 (306) 775-3611
BN Steel & Metals Saskatchewan 1920 Quebec Ave, Saskatoon SK S7K 1W4 (306) 242-3669 bnmetals.com

Or you can download the list HERE.